Sign in to follow this  

Multi-purpose dirtbike? woods/moto-x/etc

Ok, I know its the age old question and no bike is perfect for everything... But I could sure use some advice, as I don't know which way to go.

I race flattrack and have a couple of great bikes, vintage and modern, but as you know they are ONLY good for flattrack. I'm looking for a good general purpose dirtbike for everyday riding, trails and stuff. But I also want to try mx, at a real basic level. They do a "Best of Kansas" thing here in NE Kansas in the early fall where you race a hare scramble, a motocross, and a TT. I've never done it before and I want to before I get too old. So a bike that can fake its way around an mx track, but still be good for woods and hills is what I need.

Any advice?

I've been thinking maybe a late 90's xr250? xr400? xt/tt350? xr200?

What kind of budget are you looking at. Those bikes you listed wouldn't be very competitive in any type of racing that I can think of except for some serious long haul stuff (think Dakar) due to their reliability.

You could go with something like a CRF-X or WR and get the suspension set up for what you want do do, add some performance mods (lots are free on these bikes) and be set. Or you could go with a more MX based machine and soften up the suspension, add a spark arrestor, larger fuel tank etc to make it woods friendly.

Oh yeah, sorry, forgot to mention I'm on a tight budget. I'd like to stay under $1000 at the moment, but may consider selling a flattracker for a better bike in the future. I'm 43 and got into racing just a few years ago... I'd just like to try some other stuff just for fun. I'm not going to win any big races... just looking to get out there, have fun, and do my best in my class.

How about those kdx200/220's?

I've heard about the crf250x's, and even saw one for sale for $2k locally. Sounds like a decent choice.