Sign in to follow this  

California Is Cali what it's cracked up to be? Need advice

Hey fellas I need some advice. I'm thinking of moving to california in the next few years from new jersey. Right now I am an apprentice for the electrician union so first off how is work over there in the union electrical field? Steady work? Thats most important. I'm a good B rider over here Motocross is my true passion but I also enjoy any other type of riding so what would be nutral place for most tracks and riding spots? Will I be able to afford it? Just any advice would be appreciated, what ever you can tell me. Thankyou.

Oh....it's cracked up all right. heh

Don't expect the work to open up easily here for you. The entire construction industry seems to be in a state of crisis. There are several nationalities of workers that are willing to work longer, harder and cheaper than most Americans - and I'm talking NON-Union Americans. Factor in you want a union job, and you're entering a rarified job market. That's just the way it is here.

CA is messed up in a lot of ways, but there is no way I'd live in NJ over CA. CA all the way....:bonk:

And yes, it's super expensive to live here.

That said, I'd rather live in AZ, OR or UT over CA.:smirk:

Yup I'll take Kali over NJ anyday, but it's not what it used to be. the diversity has diluted the american dream. the regulations, taxes, fees and surcharges are overwhelming. So many special interest groups have legislated away a lot of our riding areas. The damaged economy has crippled the track industry. Az, Ut, maybe even northern Nv will be my retirement destination.

With all my negative opinions socal is still a riding mecca.....