Sign in to follow this  

Seat Bouncing Consistently at different speeds/gears

I'm a new member here but I've been riding for 13 years. I'll jump pretty much anything standing up but I only feel comfortable seat bouncing small jumps in really low speed, second gear situations. A higher speed seat bounce doesn't bother me too much until I get into a higher gear. I never feel like I know how the bike will launch. Will it go nose-low, nose-high, level? I don't think it's a suspension setup issue because I seem to be in a neutral/forward position leaving jumps when standing and on the throttle. I could be wrong though.

It seems like jumps don't follow the same rules as to how they launch when you seat bounce as opposed to standing. Any help with this is appreciated.

Welcome! :bonk:

Honestly, what you're feeling sounds pretty normal to me. I only seat bounce over small stuff, ya know the up/down sorta jumps where you wanna just go up quick and come right back down. The higher speed stuff, there really usually isn't any reason to seat bounce unless there is a problem with the jump and you don't get enough boost of the ramp/take-off.

But yea, seat bouncing puts your bike in a completely different angle then if you just hit the jump standing up, preloading or not.