Sign in to follow this  

damper rod not full extending

On my 2006 CRF250R I am servicing my forks (changing oil/seals). This is a new bike to me so I don't know its history other than it would be my guess that the fork oil has never been changed (from my judgement of guy I bought it from, the fact that the forks seals were leaking as well as the fork oil looking very, very old/dirty/dark when I poured it out).

In any event, I removed all oil and thourougly cleaned all parts. The teflon bushings all look good as did the other internal parts (I am not an expert on suspension service - just following manual and various how to videos and have changed fork oil/seals successfully in the past on other bikes).

I disassembled/removed the damper rod and properly cleaned it and the reassembled the damper assembly, added oil, installed cartridge, and bled damper.

What is happening is after I depress the damper rod it does not fully extend back out of the damper on its own as it should - it hits a sticky point with approximately 3.5" or damper rod still inside the damper cartridge. To get the last 3.5" to fully extend, I have to help it manually past the "stick" point.

Additionally, I noticed that the rod hit this same stick point before I even disassembled it (I tested it before I drained the oil from the damper assembly). Also, both fork dampers (each side) is doing the exact same thing - both before disassemnly and after I cleaned everything, added new oil, bled and reassembled.

What could be causing this problem and how do I fix it?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Thanks but I was under the impression that maybe 1/2" to 1" of rod not extending on it's own was normal but not 3.5".

Maybe it is normal as it is??

sorry, re read your post, try polishing the rod of the one that sticks with a scotchbrite pad, rebleed

Thanks but I was under the impression that maybe 1/2" to 1" of rod not extending on it's own was normal but not 3.5".

Maybe it is normal as it is??