Sign in to follow this  

06 suzuki rm 250

Hi im new to the foru, so go easy.

Well to start i have a 2006 suzuki rm 250 that i have just had a top end rebuild , barrel replated and new wisseco piston , now my problem is that after 20 minutes of test riding i took the expansion pipe off to take a look at the barrel to see if every thing is ok and what i found is that it has dark lines running up the cylinder now im not sure if this is the normale running in wear marks or do i have serios problem , I made sure every thing was clean even the crank chamber sorry dont know the corect name . Any help is welkom thanks Ian. :bonk:

Is it on the cylinder or piston? Either way, it may just be carbon/oil that is harmless. Can you reach the lines to wipe them? Try to see if they wipe off. If they are deeper gouges then something is wrong and should be taken apart to find out what.

Did you thouroughly clean the bore with soapy water then premix on a paper towel wiping till no more residue on the towel? If not, You might have carbon material left in the crosshatch in the bore from the honing process. This step is skipped by most. It eventually creates premature wear on the rings and piston, and can cause discoloration. I have no idea why replaters never recomend for people to do this. Sooner replates I guess.

Hi well i took it apart again yesterday to find it is not a score line its more of a smooth dark marking probabaly 1-3 in width and it is all over the barrel not just at the back more so on the exhaust side of things. the lines are not in one place but all over as in on the right side , left side , exhaust side , and intake side of the barrel.