Sign in to follow this  

Originally wanted KX85 basket case price now new to my son 97 KX100

I have been looking for a bike for my son. He has not shown much interest in riding and thought I would try one more time. He has a 2000 XR100. He is 15 years old. He is small kid and not ready for full size 125 yet. I cant get him to sit on my CRF250 or my KX250 even with the bike not started. He is 5 foot 2 and just at 100 lbs. Ideally a KX100 would be probably perfect for him but I do not have the money for an expensive bike. I think he doesnt have the cool factor on the XR. I found a 2002 kx85 for sale locally that is missing the chain, and needs new levers and bars. It does not start right now but it does have compression. All the plastics and seat are currently removed from the bike. The owner is asking 300, I offered 100 and they countered with 200. I am a mechanic so repair work is not a problem other than parts prices. I dont want to break the bank and have him never ride it either. Is that a safe price to buy a basket case at?

Edited by condor74

for an 02 and they are willing to sell at $200. id buy it right away. even if the child doesnt want to ride, you have in case he does or you have yourself a nice pit bike. you can't beat that price.

I think I am going to get it assuming they still have it on Friday. That is the next time I can make it into the town where it is.

What kind of chain does it use? I have a brand new chain in the garage that my wife bought for her quad a few years back. we dont have the quad anymore but I still have the chain.

probably a 420....you should be able to pick one up off ebay for cheap...go on rockymountainmc website and enter the bike info and they will give you machine specs for the bike to be certain...

• Like 1

call them up and tell them you will be there to get it. that way they can hold it for you. and when you do get it, post pics. :bonk: