Sign in to follow this  

New (to me) CRF80 for Daughters

Hello! Been reading here for a month or so, but decided to join today. I am a street rider (currently have a Ducati Monster that I take to the track and a Harley Iron) and am building a Suzuki Cafe Racer. BUT, I am very new to dirt riding. I acquired a 2004 Honda CRF 80F for my daughters for Christmas. So far, we've replaced the coil, plug wire, plug, computer for a Big Gun and Exhaust for a FMF Powercore4 and a new clutch cable. It runs pretty well! I have 2 questions though:

1. There's a definite lag when the throttle is twisted from idle sometimes. Not 100% sure how to address it.

2. My daughters can work the clutch lever, but not as easily as I would like. They are spending too much effort working the clutch which distracts them from other things. Suggestions? the new clutch cable helped a little bit, but really they need the lever to be closer (less reach).

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or advice. I'm excited about getting into the dirt riding world with my girls!

The XR80 carb doesn't have an accelerator pump. If you crack the throttle wide open from closed, you can almost stall the engine (common). Learn to lean into the throttle rather than 'punch it'.

The clutch pull on the XR80 should be fairly mild: the 100 is known to be difficult to pull. An msr raptor perch has been often recommended for reduced pull effort (http://www.stuntreview.com/product/clutch-perch-lever/msr-pro-raptor-ez-pull-clutch/).

Use proper oil (no need for synthetic, just JASO-MA rated motorcycle engine oil), set your valves to .002" cold and ride the crap out of it. Great bike.

Thanks! The no-accelerator pump makes sense. I didn't think about that. One thing I want them to work on is smooth throttle control anyway!

It's not so much the clutch lever pull that's the problem, but the reach to get to the lever. Does that MSR you recommended offer a shorter reach? It's certainly not a bad price.