Sign in to follow this  

High compression pistons less reliable than stock compression?

Since it is the off season I'm beginning to think about replacing parts in my bike,piston to be exact.I have heard that the high compression pistons increase power but they're more prone to blowing up.A friend of mine says he won't put any aftermarket part in his engine,he stays true to OEM parts.Is it worth buying a higher compression?Do they last or will they require more maintence because of the increased performance?I don't beat the heck out of my bike either,would that improve the longevity?Finally,my bike is a 2011 RMZ250,bone stock so,would putting in that piston (higher compression) cause me to have to upgrade any other internal parts?

Many thanks-Zach

I am no mechanic really man, so take what I say with a grain of salt. We are literally doing my top end as I write this. Didn't know what to expect when I pulled the jug off, turns out I still had the STOCK piston (double ring) from 19 mf'ing 98 in the bike and it didn't warrant any real reason for a rebuild, just doing it.

Going with the standard bore wiseco pro lite double ring with all the cometic gaskets and such, but in my mind with anything engine related or performance wise, there is always a give and take...Any time you give more power, there will be a "side effect" if you will, at least in my mind....So, I'd have to say the answer is yes...If you put a high performance piston in and don't beef up other things along with it, then it could def cause some premature damage.

I would call the fellas at wiseco or wherever and ask them...but don't stop there.

I am no mechanic really man, so take what I say with a grain of salt. We are literally doing my top end as I write this. Didn't know what to expect when I pulled the jug off, turns out I still had the STOCK piston (double ring) from 19 mf'ing 98 in the bike and it didn't warrant any real reason for a rebuild, just doing it.