Sign in to follow this  

Honda SL 125 Ran fine, now won't start 2 hours later

Hello,

I need some help with my '72 SL 125. I just got the bike about a week ago. I am new to bikes but have experience turning a wrench a bit on cars and basic diagnostic skills/understanding.

The bike has been running great. 1700 OG miles, but has been sitting awhile before I got it. PO got it, flushed all fluids, cleaned carb, new chain, adjusted points. Now it's mine. Have been running it around every day, starts right away always.

Last night, I got gas and checked the oil. It was low so I added about .5 quarts 10 w-30. Now, I ran it today to the store right down the street. Ran great, but when I put it in neutral to get off the bike real quick and return some movies, it died. Hadn't done this yet. Started right back up. On the way home, everything was fine but I noticed the idle seemed a bit lower/gradually decreased at a stop. did not die though. Hadn't done that before. I parked it, and went to start 2 hours later and I cannot for the life of me get it going. Got it started for about 2 seconds with the choke on, then it died.

I have fuel flow from the tank to the petcock. I will check spark ASAP. The battery is brand new and the lights come on so I don't think it's that.

Any suggestions?

Thanks for reading the long post, I really appreciate any and all help from you gurus.

:bonk:

yeah ... check and confirm a good strong spark , new points is the best way

i think this could be fuel related , you should comfirm consistant fuel flow . make sure the fuel is not contaminated . was the fuel tank cleaned thoroughly ?

it does not take much to cause a blockage and check float level

Have a good blue spark. Tank looks rusty on the inside and I'm pretty sure it was not cleaned really. I put 87 octane in it.

don't know how to check float level. petcock is clean.