Sign in to follow this  

Newbie rider getting into trails

Hey folks,

I'm a new rider getting into riding the trails N of Houston. I have limited dirt bike experience riding a 2-stroke 125 as a teenager. Mostly open fields having fun and a little motocross track stuff. I'll mostly be riding up in the trails of Sam Houston State Park. I'm looking to spend 2-2500. I'm 30 years old 6' 1" and 215lbs. I'm gonna ride a TTR 125, a CRF 230 and a KDX 200 this weekend. These bike belong to friends and they're letting me ride just to get a feel for what I want. Here's what I've been told to look at:

CRF 250

CRF 230

KDX 220

TTR 230

I'm open to any and all suggestions as I'm new to this and there's a fairly diverse market for used bikes here in Houston. 99.9% of my riding will be on the trails.

Thanks

Look for a ktm 200 or 300 exc or mxc. Check your local Craigslist there's plently on there for reasonable price!

the TTR and CRF230 are play bikes, you dont want these if you want to do any even semi serious riding. The best thing you listed is the KDX, but you really should be looking for a KTM 200. The 250/300 are awesome but may be alot of power, also any a GasGas 200/250/300 would be perfect, they are less common but can be found cheaper than a ktm...very comparable to the KTM performance wise. Look for an 08+ KTM or 07+ GasGas...should be able to find one around 3k. If you ride one....you will understand..its leaps and bounds better than the bikes you listed. That said a KDX is a great starter bike that also can grow with your ability.

Hey folks,