Sign in to follow this  

Schooling??

Hello guys i have a very important question. and would love to hear your advice or answers. Im 23 and very interested into getting into some schooling and i live in indiana. ok so what im lookiing for is some good schools for motorcyle tech training. Im a very hands on guy and already well knoledge in mechanics.. for example i was swaping 5 horse briggs from my go cart to mini bike when i was 8 yrs old lol.. but anyways theres nothing more i want then to be in a pit crew working on dirtbikes or even street bikes. I hope you all take this as serious as i do. And hoope to find some good advice on where to start or good schools. PLease please and thank you!!

I never worked for a factory team, but I was a third year apprentice bike wrench with factory and apprenticeship schooling before I bailed into another trade. I started out in a local dealership sweeping floors and doing all of the other jobs that the journeyman mechanics wouldn't waste their time with for minimum wage. I did that for two years before I graduated high school and went and took a pre-apprenticeship program in northern Alberta. I worked again for the same dealership for five months before going back to school to take a factory training program for three months again that Fall.

That was all in '96 and '97. I bounced around between dealerships and speed shops after that for about three years due to a poor economy in the city I was in and managed to challenge and pass the provincial apprenticeship exams and worked my way up to a third year standing. All of that work netted me some good experiences and an opportunity to work with a now defunct CMRC national race team (that I turned down) but it was not a trade that payed well at all.