Sign in to follow this  

2004 rm125 bogging problem

Hi there. Need some advice with my 2004 rm125

I’m not very good at explaining these things but Ill try and be as in depth as I can

Bike

2004 RM125. Vhm cylinder head (with a stock insert) Fmf sst pipe and shorty silencer. Boyesen carbon reeds.

Fault

I have a ‘bogging’ problem. This started at Wilden Lane just over a month ago. It would bog down as if I was in too high a gear. I fitted a new plug and the problem had gone. At the next round a couple of weeks later it did it again, and changing the plug didn’t help. I found my vhm cylinder head had split and was leaking coolant. Also when I taken the head off the inner o ring had split and let some coolant into the cylinder. Also, some of you may remember my post a few weeks back, the insert on the head had several nasty looking dents in, as if the previous owner had got some debris in there, or lost a circlip or something?

Repair

I found a new vhm head at a discount price so I got that. I purchased a wiseco piston, fitted a new small end, gaskets, the new head, had the cylinder honed, checked and cleaned the carb and reeds, fitted a new air filter (normal after a ride) changed the gearbox oil, new spark plug. I also fitted an hour meter and an alloy throttle tube.

Since the above