Sign in to follow this  

Looking at the new FE Husabergs or Suzuki RMXZ

Hi guys,

I've been riding for a little over two years now, initially on an XR400R, then I swapped over to a DRZ400E as I use the bike to commute to work and electric start was handy. I am looking to buy a second bike, so I'll keep the DR for commuting and use the new one for everything else. I'm 6'1 and about 80Kgs (175 pounds).

Over here we ride a variety of stuff. We do a bit of motocross, some enduro, some really tight and twisty forest trail riding and some rallying where we are racing on tracks designed for rally cars. My friend has an '10 KTM 530 exc which seems to handle all of the above quite well...

I am looking at buying brand new and the biking magasines rave about the Husabergs whenever they get reviewed. Alternatively I'm also looking at the Suzuki RMX-Z 450 as I am a suzuki fan and they are significantly cheaper than the bergs. Which do you think would be more suited to "a bit of everything"? Also before anyone suggests it, I've ridden my friends 250 and 450 MXers and I'm not interested in the MX version of either bike.

I'm aware of course that either bike will be a big step up in power and handling from the DRZ, but I think I am ready for that step. I've been reading everything I could find on the Husabergs and one review suggested that the forks were way too soft for motocross, can anyone comment on that? Also, given that the 450 and 570 weight almost exactly the same, why would you choose the 450 over the 570?