Sign in to follow this  

KX 250 jetting??

Hi I'm new to dirtbike maintenance but I understand that jetting has a huge impact on a bikes performance.

So my question is how do I know my bikes jetted right or how do I rejett it if it's not right?

I'm riding a 07 KX250 the previous owner was a inexperienced rider also so i wana make sure it's jetted right.

any help will be appreciated :smirk: thanks!

Oh man no help for the new fella? I was you like 2 months ago man, don't let it intimidate you. Everyone has a different temperature and altitude they ride @ and the temp atleast is always changing especially this time of year, so you have to make minor adjustments here and there, and especially on the air screw. Adjusting it can be a day to day thing. You're basically need to learn the difference between lean (not enough fuel) and rich (too much fuel) how each sounds. In winter bikes tend to go lean because of atmospheric conditions, so this time of year is typically when you need to go richer on your jetting, and in summer bikes go richer, so you must go leaner.

What exactly is going richer or leaner? Going richer is buying bigger round jets that can allow more fuel to pass through them, and going leaner is buying more narrow round jets so less fuel will pass through. You have 3 main types of jets in your carb and they each have their own number. A higher number indicates a richer jet, and lower # is leaner.

First off, you absolutely must have a service manual for this bike to find out what # jets your bike needs at this exact time temperature and elevation wise...Then you'll want to pull your carb and remove your jets (all explained in your manual) and figure out what # jets you have in it. This should be the DOH! step as you realize your bikes been running crappy because you need to bump up your jets (richer)