Sign in to follow this  

Is it ''ok'' to take off in 2nd gear?

hi, its a 5 speed dual sport yamaha xt250, (im still very new to motorcycles in general), just wondering if i am at a dead stop, instead of taking off in 1st gear is it ok to take off in 2nd gear?

Reason i ask, is cause just for whatever reason i tried it today, i figured the bike would just stall and that would be it, but if i gave it enough gas it took off just fine and i skipped that whole 1st to 2nd gear short shift.

So is it ok to do this? can this hurt 2nd gear? or is it just fine and people sometimes take off in 2nd gear?

thanks.

Your clutch will wear out a bit faster if you need to slip it for a longer time while taking off, but otherwise it's not a problem. In racing, we start in 2nd gear all the time, sometimes in 3rd in special conditions.

It would only hurt if you had to slip the clutch excessively to keep from stalling. If you've got low (off-road) gearing, then you need even less slipping to get going. I used to do it all the time in traffic when you really didn't come to a DEAD stop... or like maybe a STOP sign. Sorry officer....

What does ''clutch slip'' mean? im assuming holding in the clutch and slowly releasing it?

and yeah, i mainly want to do this in traffic, like red lights and stuff, it just saves that 1st gear shift that needs to happen right away, so i start off in 2nd, then shift to 3rd and im allready doing 35 so its comfortable.

Did not think about the clutch tho, if its gonna wear it down, i might stop doing this.

You can start in just about any gear if you work the throttle and clutch right... That said, if you are slipping the clutch a lot you'll wear it out faster. Slipping the clutch is when it is partially engaged.