Sign in to follow this  

Getting my first bike! Help please!

-I'm 6' 1" (with shoes), 175ish. Athletic build.

-I've logged probably 4-5 hours totally dirt bike time.

-I live in North GA and will be trail riding, back yard riding, and hopefully some north GA mountain riding as well!

-I have never owned a bike but I have ridden my girlfriend's YZ125 and the YZ90 (WAY too small.) I loved every second of it and really want my own.

-Price? $800ish. Preferably no more ... but I'm willing to save extra if necessary. Looking obsessively at used bikes on craigslist

I'm looking at Honda's because I'm not a super mechanic and I've heard Yamaha's are finicky. I can top out the 125 (fast, but I'd like a little play) so I'm thinking about a 150, 200, 230, or 250 and a 4-stroke if possible (I've heard they're less jumpy, just as powerful, and NO OIL MIX!).

I've been told a CR 125 would still be good, but I'd really like something bigger to grow into.

I want something slightly more powerful than the 125 and preferably a 4t.

help!

well you're not going to find a bike you like for 800 bucks if you're in the RUNNING fourstroke range. a 125 makes about 39 hp at the crank and like 34 or 35 at the wheel the 230 150 200 are all fourstroke aircooled beasts that are going to bore you if you've rode a full size 2 stroke like the 125. if you want a good beginner bike thats a nice bike find a 90's cr yz rm, they're all good bikes just pick your color.

around here 2 stroke 125's from the nineties sell for like 700-1200 bucks.

Yammablue,

I dont know why you insist on noting that a 125 makes 39hp at the crank. First off, that would apply to modern 125s, not older bikes, which is what the op is looking for. Even for modern bikes, 39hp is debateable, depending on the source. I note the thread that was written by the dyno operator I posted a while back.

Op