Sign in to follow this  

ktm150sx vs tm 125

what makes a tm better when we drag raced his bike pulled away breifley and then i caught up pulled for a brief moment and then he passed me why? i have v force reads and its a 150 what makes his bike better? he has mitchelens and i have stock but i studied the two and they are very close so why is his bike faster then mine?

Because TM's are very strong fast bikes. I used to pass 250s with my TM125. Chances are that the TM is only stronger for the last 500 rpm, but that is what counts if you can keep it there.

Because TM's are very strong fast bikes. I used to pass 250s with my TM125. Chances are that the TM is only stronger for the last 500 rpm, but that is what counts if you can keep it there.

Exactly. A 150 will rev slightly less and only really make more power down low. the 125 screams and keeps pulling in drag race mode. Now go drag race up a loose hill and you might find different results as the torque and hook up come into play.

Yes sir TM's are FAST! My son has the 2011 TM 250MX and it's a rocket. A guy that works for me drag raced my son many times with his 2011 Kaw 450 and every time my son beat him with his TM250. I do remember seeing a dyno chart on the 144's and the TM's were at the top and the KTM's were actually down quite a bit.

First of all, I'm glad to hear that more people are finding out what it's like to get trampled by an Italian Stallion! I think its the cool blue plastics, the frequency of light that they reflect pushes the bike faster thru time and space.

Seriously it's just cylinder port mapping. The TM has a very broad ranging motion on its power valve. When the valve is shut, off idle, she is as smooth as silk. When the valve is wide open, the TM is just a more radical motor, and sometimes that wins over displacement. My wife has a TM125en. I steal it on a regular basis, especially when it's greasy out. It's smooth down low, and RIPS up top.