Sign in to follow this  

Should I keep my 250f or go to 125?

Hey guys,

Right now I have a 06 yz 250f and I race moto in the summer and practice at a sand track sometimes. I've been watching alot of 125 videos and they look like a lot of fun. I see pros halling on them but I'm not a pro haha. I just need to know if u can be competitive on a 125 in moto against 250fs thanks

you might be competitve with the older 250f bikes, but I think the new ones are wite abit faster these days.. But then again, it has alot to do with your skill level also.

son had a 08 YZ250f and YZ125 (144), for racing the 250f was better, for pure riding fun the YZ125 was the bomb....got rid of the 250f and bought a YZ250 as he can race it against the 250fs....still have the 125 for me:)

I think a 125 would be a good bike to bring back the fun in motocross and teach you to just keep it pinned everywhere. But stock for stock, you will be a tad slower on the 125. However, if you can put 500 into the 125 motor and make it a 144, then you will be making a step up from your 06 250F.

I owned 6 250F's the past few years and now have 2 identical 125's in the garage...couldn't be happier. I realize I will never be pro and would rather have the most fun possible riding. :smirk:

if you have the skills you can run top 10 on a 125 with 250's. but at least around here if you look at results 125s dont really win any races and might break top 3 once in a while if theres a really talented kid on one. newer 250f's are faster though. if theres a kid you are the same speed as on a new 250f and you are on your yz250f and switch to the 125 you might fall back a little

Pretty much with the majority on this one, 250f is better for serious racing, 125 is better for serious fun.

I have to agree with everyone else. 125=fun 250F=win.