Sign in to follow this  

Seattle Area trials noob looking for clarifiaction

I'm a newish dirt rider. I've been riding street and dirt roads for a while, but I've started trail riding and I'm realizing my DR350 isn't the right bike. I don't think I want a "woods" bike. The slower pace, light weight and technique focus of a trials bike really appeals to me for a trail bike. I'd rather learn the right way to put the bike where I want it to go instead of "gas it out"

I've had a chance to ride a couple trials bikes recently. I've putted around a parking lot on a Montesa 4rt, I've had a chance to ride a 2001 Montesa 315r on really easy trail for 20 minutes, and yesterday I got to ride a 2000 Gas Gas 280 txt for a couple hours at Walker Valley.

Since I'm new to trials and new to trail riding in general i don't really know what I should be looking for. The difference between the 315r and the 280 txt seem subtle but significant. I felt like the 280 was much more rev happy than the 315 and a bit harder to control, and the 315 felt like it had a heavier flywheel and just wanted to chug along. I don't know if the Montesa had a fast or slow throttle tube on it, but the gas gas had the fast (white) one. Would the slower throttle tube make a huge difference?

I'm headed out to the Purple Penguin Trial on Sunday where I already have a couple offers to ride a few more bikes.

Thanks for the input

Seattle Area? I live a little east of Renton in Maple Valley

In Trials, there really is NOT any right nor wrong bike. It's what feels good to YOU that counts. They are different, yes. And all of the bikes you mentioned are new enough for an introduction.