Sign in to follow this  

KTM 250sx jetting help! Fouling plugs!

Hi I have just bought a 2006 KTM 250 sx. It's in great condition, excellent compression but I'm fouling plugs after 2-3 hours of trail riding (I'm basically putting in first 3 gears 90% of the time). The plug is a br8es and it's black and wet oily when I get it out.

So I know I'm running rich but I'm new to two strokes and although I have a vague idea I don't want to ruin my ktm. I was going to lean the needle to top clip position (leanest) but a screw on the bottom of my carby is stripped....anyway I don't know what to do next

Carby jetting is dead stock I believe. Carb is a Keihin PWK 36mm

airscrew is 1 3/4 turns out

I run 40:1 with 98 premium gas and motul 800 2 stroke

Weather is generally warm to hot around 25-35 degrees celcius

I'm 265 meters above sea level (866 ft)

Any help would be greatly appreciated

I have an 06' 250sx. Do you have the owners manual?

This is the jetting chart from the manual. The chart is based on a ratio of 50:1 with 98 oct. pump gas and a clean air filter.

I run 52:1 with Golden Spectro and have never had any problem with any of my bikes. I have never seized a motor or had a bearing go out in my life. I have been using this ratio with Golden Spectro since my first bike in 1970.

06250sxJettingChart.jpg

Edited by Larry63r

Thanks Larry63r, for the chart. And no I dont have an owners manual. I'm not racing so I guess 50:1 wouldnt hurt. As for the air filter I will clean(last clean 1ride ago) it today and change needle clip position.

Thanks for the help so far guys :smirk:

Thanks Larry63r, for the chart. And no I dont have an owners manual. I'm not racing so I guess 50:1 wouldnt hurt. As for the air filter I will clean(last clean 1ride ago) it today and change needle clip position.

Thanks for the help so far guys :smirk: