Sign in to follow this  

Need Help deciding on a 250 four stroke for trail riding.

Hi, new to the forum and saw ThumperTalk had very informative users so decided to ask Here. Im looking for a good reliable 250 four stroke that is preferably air cooled. Other than that im game for any of the big four japanese brands.

The bike will for the most part be ridden on desert trails, flat portions and hills. Im about 6 foot and weigh 155-160. I have been riding for about 5 years, but have a lot to learn. I think of myself as a competent rider. Bike will not be ridden hard, however I would like the option of doing so without it fighting too much. I've been riding at Ocotilla Wells lately and love the terrain but my 2000 Yamaha TTR 125 doesnt have as much power as I'd like. My budget for the bike will be Maxed out at $2,000 to leave room for upgrades such as a Desert Tank and other off-road worthy mods. Any advice or information on a good 250 would be very welcomed. Also I have a distrust for electric starts but would tangle with them again if it came on a beauty of a bike. Thanks for the time responding and ask any questions on this topic.

I bought an older yamaha yz250f and put a hot stage 1 cam in it and it ran forever without fouling plugs or needing valve adjustment as it was a trail and fire road machine and didn't spend much time in the high rpms however whenever I borrowed back from my son it had more than enough power and I rode a crf450r.. With the hot cam stage 1 i was able to bog it down and never lacked power.. the best part is I picked it up for 1600.00 and spent 300.00 for hotcam and installation as I also had them check the piston, ring and valves when they installed the hot cam. 1900.00 you have a bike for the woods and/or track.

• Like 1