Sign in to follow this  

1996 tank on a 1990 CR250?

I've read thoroughly about swapping the various plastics between the 1990-1992 CR250 and 125. What I've never seen is if you can swap to a later style 1993+ tank or not. My reason for asking is because my tank has a hole in it, nobody makes a stock size tank for the 1990 CR250, and it would also be nice to look a bit more modern. Finding a nice used 1990 CR250 tank is proving impossible, and most used ones look like they'd been dragged out of the swamp due to the gas creep through the plastic. Whereas finding a decent used 1996-ish tank is a lot easier. Plus companies still offer stock size replacement tanks for the later gen bikes. I have no need or want for a 3+ gallon tank.

Is there a big reason why it wouldn't work? Seat issues? Mounting issues? Obviously the shrouds would need to be changed but that's easy. I'm a good welder, so if it's something like mounting tabs that would be an easy fix for me. If it's something like the frame angle thats different and that throws everything out of whack, that's a bigger problem.

Not sure about any mounting compatibility. Have you looked on ebay? The white tanks on the 92-96 CR's are going to look worse over time from the gas fumes (unless you keep it drained when not in use) than the red tank from the 90-91 CR's.

Edited by KcDavis

Anyone? Beuller?

Granted I'd rather have a white take, BUT, the color issue still doesn't resolve the fact that there aren't new stock size tanks being made anymore for the 90-91 250 and 91-92 125. That problem is solvable with the later tanks.

I did try a Clarke tank, and the fit was horrible, nothing lined up right, and it made the seat bend up weird at the front. Plus, It ended up being cracked at the mounting bosses. That, in addition to me not needing/wanting a bigger tank, I won't buy another Clarke.