Sign in to follow this  

NEW MOTOCROSS BIKE HELP!?

hey, im 13 years old (turning 14 soon) and i do motocross and some trail riding. i am NOT a beginner, i have been riding for a number of years and know how to ride a bike. im usually placing around 1st and 2nd at my local track. i currently have a Suzuki rm85 and im looking to move up from my current bike. the problem is im not sure if i should get an 85 big wheel or a 125 2t. i dont think im ready for a 250 yet. i have ridden a 250 a few times but the 250's just feel way too heavy for me. i am pretty small at 5'2 and also pretty light.

So, any suggestions?

i'd go with the 125 2t myself. for one i ride smokers, i think they're more fun so i'm kinda biased. :bonk: 2nd thing is the cost of maintenance, upkeep, and ease of maintenance will make it more suitable for a younger person on a limited budget, unless you folks are loaded and very giving of the dough that is. 3rd thing is i think that learning to ride a smoker will help to round out your riding skills and if you go back to the thumper you'll find yourself going faster than before just because most folks seem to be faster on the thumpers. 4th thing is it will fit you much longer, forever really. going with the big wheel would probably be an easier transition but if you hit a growth spurt and shoot up a bunch it will feel cramped pretty quickly whereas a 125 smoker will fit you pretty much forever.

so that's my .02. make sure and post up some pics of whatever you decide on. :smirk:

okay thanks for that :smirk: yea your right i think the 125 would be more suitable. ive been in the 85 class for a while and i think im ready to step into the junior 125's. and the bigger wheels will make it better for the trails. what 125 would you rocommend though? i was looking at the yz125 and the rm125. they both look like great bikes, and if i was going to get one i would get it second hand.