Sign in to follow this  

back brake failed today ...

so i was out riding today descending down a steep hilly section of the trail and i hit the brakes once more and the back one totally fails, i triedd pumped the brake and it didnt come good, then i ride along for about 5mins without touching it and then it works again?!? but then after a little bit of light braking it totally stops working, so i guess the master cylinder needs a rebuild? im not really good with brakes and could do with a second opinion, the bike is a 97 exc300 the model with the brembo brakes. thanks guys.

Moisture in the lines, bleed your brake. The moisture gets hot and makes your brakes fade. When it cools down your brakes come back.

Joe.....

Were you riding/dragging the rear brake? I lost my rear brake on my 450 EXC over the summer after dragging the brake too much and overheating it. The brake came back after it cooled down. I ended up going with graphite pads as they don't run as hot as the stock pads and replaced the fluid.

I would check the fluid in the master cylinder first. If you have a decent fluid level, change the fluid and bleed it well. If there is no fluid, buy the rebuid kit and you should be ready to go.

Couple of suggestions.

First, when was the last time that your brake fluid was flushed/bled out? Brake fluid is designed to absorb moisture to prevent the brake parts themselves from becoming corroded. It needs to get flushed out periodically to renew the brake fluid and remove the old brake fluid that has too much moisture in it. I do mine at least once/year maybe 2 times/year if I am riding in more water/mud and washing it more often.