Sign in to follow this  

'05 RM250 won't start

So i was riding the other day and the bike sputtered and stopped.

It still has compression but wont fire.

It has spark, the carb is clean, and the reeds looked fine.

I have a few hunches, but input would be greatly appreciated.

Im fairly new to 250 2ts, so what about this?

When i pushed the kickstarter, it felt like it fell through easily halfway through the stroke.

COuld the initial compression i felt just be in the crank case, and i blew up the topend?

It could of been an error of mine, but when i grounded the plug and checked the spark, it wouldn't spark every time i turned it over.

Sounds like you fouled a plug. Buy a new one and then try starting it.

Test the compression while you are at it.... if you don't have one see if you can borrow/rent one. You can still have compression but not enough to start easily. If you bump start it donw a hill where the piston gets moving faster than a kickstarter would get it going... low compression. The faster piston speed doesn't give the air enough time to bleed by and then there is enough compression to fire.

New plug also like mentioned above.

Edited by RhinofromWA

I would start with a new plug , what plug came out, i think it should be a NGK BR8EG . but it sound more like a plug from what you have described , low compresion would not cause a intermitit spark when checking it. As every one else sugests it just a fould plug mine did it if i didnt give it a good blast.

sorry i didnt mention that, yes i tried a new plug before i did anything, it was still a no go.

Its the plug cap, thanks guys.