Sign in to follow this  

Just got an 07 RMZ-250 Am I In For a Treat or a Disaster?

Well like it says i sold my 04 CR250 my baby which never let me down and always ran strong. But i wanted to try a 4T. I got a 07 RMZ-250 in pretty good condition. Is there anything I need to watch out for? Any common problems, do's/dont's? Anything to keep an eye on, and did i get a reliable bike?

lets see some pic's, Check all the normal wear points. i am new to the RMZ family but it seams like most bikes that you need to check your chain wear guide under the front of the swing arm. Check out my rebuild of the one we picked up a few weeks ago here http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/937546-new-to-me-my-son-2008-rmz250-pics/ ours was in pretty bad shape and not taken care of.. Hope yours is in better shape

Ill have to try and get some pics up later, yeah i saw your build you got a good deal for 1500 even if u did need to do that work. I am just nervous now b/c there is small puffs of blue smoke coming out of the exhaust this morning when i first started it up and blipped the throttle, i know it hasnt been ridden in a while, but i also know blue smoke can mean burning oil meaning worn rings. :smirk:...if this thing goes down im screwed and wont have the money to fix it.

do a compression and a leak test. it will help you determine if it is the valves or the rings. cheaper to replace rings etc now before it gets worse.

make sure you have the updated shift detent spring, aspecially on an 07. Either the uptaded 250 spring or the 450 spring. Most all suzuki's smoke, at least the ones I've owned have. There cylinders seem to wear heavy in the front on the exhaust side due to the crank angle. One thing that I've done to both of my sons bikes is to have the cylinders replated by Millinium tech. It made a big difference in compression, and I've never seen another puff of smoke. good mod in my experience. And a good pipe system will open up the top end on that one (Yoshi) :smirk: