Sign in to follow this  

250 port and cam desighn

I have changed the 250 port desighn entirerly the stock port flowed extremly well but was simply to large Ktm has a tendency to make there ports large the engineers are paying to much atension to flow numbers and getting very low velocities its the old hog it out therory and make it flow there giving up a lot hp .also there cam profiles are very long and not agressive in the higher lifts im also going to fix that .

Are yout referring to the 11-12s? I had a look a while ago and come up with nothing , Couldn't find anything available .I also put a post up and got zero replys .

yes im referring to the 2012 250 im just getting started with it but i have discussed it with other builders and tuners and they say the ktm always lacks torque and is very flat .i beleive all that can be fixed with the changes in the cylinder head and cams.the 350 comes next.

I guess this finally means that KTM has gone mainstream when it draws the attention of someone like Ron :smirk: The 250F is the "oldest" design in the KTM lineup which was introduced in 2005. Despite some updates with EFI for 2012 it is still the same basic design and KTM knows that - so for 2013 (just a few months away :bonk:) we will see a completely new 250F engine. First official glimpse will be the introduction of the MX2 GP bikes pretty soon. Lots of rumors at the moment over here, but I assume we will see a more "current" head&port design together with a new bottom end (350F like). A RHC 350F though would be something I'd be highly interested too; maybe something like the complete Honda 250F heads for us guys abroad? If they are affordable from KTM.

Michael

Dumb question but Why are the pro lites guys bikes so strong? Its not uncommon to see a ktm leading to the first corner. I would have thought that would be the perfect example of hp at play. That being as pros are all at similar skill levals hp would shine through, If you know wha i mean.