Sign in to follow this  

'00 YZ250 Carb Tuning Help

I was trail riding a week or so ago and fouled out a plug, the guy who helped me out said that i was smoking more than usual and that i should go to a 40:1 mixture instead of my 32:1, which i did. He also suggested dropping the needle 1 notch in the carb, which i did today. I also tryed to dial in the carb using the "Yamaha 2T FAQ-Jetting" thread on here. After setting the idle screw and air screw, i took the bike for a spin in between the 1/4 to 3/4 throttle range and got lots of spooge and fluid leaks from the drain tubes and still alot of spitting and sputtering at steady throttle. Should i expect a smooth running engine at steady throttle? Or is this bike not going to run smoothly unless I'm hammering it? The floats are set to spec, newly packed silencer, 2 hours on new top-end, new air filter, reeds in spec. I'm new at this and definitely suck at carbs, going by the manual and this website. Main and pilot are stock. Ambient temp is aroung 60. Any suggetions? Thanks for any input!

You should have moved the clip up a notch on the needle to lean it out. What main and pilot are you running. What temps and altitude are you running in.

I would stick with 32:1. Oil is not your probelm. I'm running 45 pilot 175main and a jd jetting red needle 3 groove. Its not perfect but it can idle and not foul a plug.

I did move the clip up a notch (therefore dropping the needle a notch) to try to lean it out. I'm running a 178 main and a 50 pilot, which is what is in the owner's manual (thought it would get me close). Temps right now are around 50 - 60 degrees and I ride at 450 feet above see level.

Edited by JFoVStar650