Sign in to follow this  

My first KTM ~ 2012 300XC-w

So, after waiting way too long for Suzuki to finally return to making and selling a new 2 stroke I went out and purchased a new 2012 KTM 300XC-w. And here it is!, I haven't even ridden it yet (ok ~ I took one spin around the yard after this picture).

2012%20KTM300XC-W%20Feb%202012_b_r.jpg

That said, because I'm totally new to KTM's does anyone have any helpful tips on setting it up for Hare Scramble racing? I'm an intermediate rider, 5'7" and 175lb. The only thing that I have on order is a good set of bark busters and a hour meter, in Michigan the trees are tight but the rocks are far and few (in the lower penn.).

Thanks!

Edited by zig06

You should get a spark arrested silencer or end cap and some pipe armor. In CA they check for spark arestors before the start. You will most Likely have to mess with your jetting too.

I love my '12 300 xc

Your bike already has an hour meter from the factory on the odometer/enduro computer. I would buy a skid plate, a pipe guard, some bark busters break the engine in and then jet it and rip it! Great bike!

They are very sensitive to sag set up so be sure you go over the procedure and set it up right. i also find that rebound settings need to be way less than recommended. be sure to experiment with all 3 power valve springs ( as well as screwing in / out the square adjuster dolly) to see what each setting does ( drastic difference from mild to wild) as well as the map switch ignition setting ( or grey wire plugged/unplugged if you dont have a switch). fantastic bike that will make you LAUGH when you bring up the word suzuki after a few rides.

Joe