Sign in to follow this  

headgasket probs.. stock mikuni?

I have a 05 drz-sm with a stroker/bb i bought with a bad headgasket in the spring i fixed it and rode all summer put about 1600 miles on and i didnt baby it.... i was told by another member of TT when i was in the repair process that " the mikuni with the stroker/bb could cause head gasket failure again and i should switch to the fcr 39 or 41".... i was wondering if any body coiuld help fill me in on why it would fail because of that... thanks

I can think of no relation between big bore head gasket life and Mikuni carb. If anythig, the increased performance potential of a 39 or 41mm Keihin FCR would be harder on the head gasket than the Mikuni BSR36.

What kind of cams are in it? The only issue I have read about is if you don't have the right cams with enough overlap your compression pressure with the stroker gets to high enough levels to blow headgskets. I have no personal experience with this but have read this many times on here.

+1 on what Noble said.

I think head gasket failure has higher rates if bored to (94,5 mm) or more because it's narrower between water jacket port and cylinder wall. (not sure if it is from 94,5 or 95 mm and more)... soooo, is it bored to more than 94 mm? and is the cylinder casting similar to the stock one?(especially in the section between cyl. wall and water jacket)...if too thin, it will fail for sure. Just a matter of time....

The 39/41 mm fcr would allow more a/f mixture so, in theory, more energy and more stress on that cross section of the head gasket from the bigger explosion than with the bsr36.

What are your cams + cam specs.

its a 480 bb/ stroker stock cams..... when i put the new gasket in the head bolts were loose.. im assuming because the spring washers were upside down?

so what i gathered out of this is that if i go with a bigger carb i have to get diff cams to prevent any further dammage? any sugestions? all i have herd of is hotcams...