Sign in to follow this  

My first bike (complete newb that needs help)

Hey guys im currently saving up for my first dirt bike, ive been doing some research and ive decided to get either a honda or ktm dirt bike(suggestions open). Theres many different type of styles of dirt bikes im not sure which one suits me, I want a bike pretty much just for fun and recreational use, i want a bike good for medium/big sized air jumps and long trails and one that has a bit of kick to it that can go pretty fast. Before you recommend me some beginner bike i ask you not too because i can only buy one bike i cant afford to get a beginner bike then upgrade later, i want a good performance bike. one an experienced rider would want. Im 19 years old 185cm tall i weigh around 68kg. for the price anywhere between $3000-8500. If you suggest a bike please state why

Ive noticed that some bikes are 2 stroked,4 stroked, 6 stroked, whats the difference between these and are dirt bikes manual or automatic.

Thanks guys for taking the time to read this really means alot to me : )

Do a LOT more reading before spending any money on a bike. (6 stroked lol)

Read a lot so you can try to form your own opinion then ask for others opinions and this way you can actually understand their reasoning.

I know this isn't what you want to hear, but it really is for the best.

Edited by woods-rider

First before I give you my 2 cents on what bike you should buy, they're are only 2 engine types for dirt bikes not 3: 2 Stroke and 4 Stroke. The links below describe the diffrence between the two.

Dirt Bike History 2 vs 4 stroke

http://www.dirt-bike-tips-and-pics.com/2-stroke-vs-4-stroke.html

Pros and Cons of 2 and 4

http://www.deepscience.com/articles/engines.html

This is a KTM 125SX (2 Stroke)

125_SX_90_Grad.jpg

This is a KTM 250SX-F (4 Stroke)

250_SX_F_90_Grad_03.jpg

Ok enough of the that anyways from what it seems like,you want some action and kick from your bike and have fun with it.