Sign in to follow this  

KX85 top end

Hi,

I bought my kids a used 2006 KX 85 off craigslist for $600. I have a little bit of experience with the 4 strokes, have 2 TTR's and 2 CRF's, but this is my first two stroke. It "seems" in good condition, fires right up, doesnt skip or bog down, loud as hell....but I'm wondering what the best manual is for beginners like me? Im sure the top end will need a look soon, and I have limited mechanical experience, which is to say carbs, oil changes, spark plugs, throttle cables and chokes are it. What should I be looking at, and which manual will break it down step by step for me? Thanks!

Amber

Hi,

I bought my kids a used 2006 KX 85 off craigslist for $600. I have a little bit of experience with the 4 strokes, have 2 TTR's and 2 CRF's, but this is my first two stroke. It "seems" in good condition, fires right up, doesnt skip or bog down, loud as hell....but I'm wondering what the best manual is for beginners like me? Im sure the top end will need a look soon, and I have limited mechanical experience, which is to say carbs, oil changes, spark plugs, throttle cables and chokes are it. What should I be looking at, and which manual will break it down step by step for me? Thanks!

Amber

The first one you should get is the OEM Service manual from Kawasaki. You can order it right from Kawasaki.com or a local dealer.

It gives you all the correct info from the factory, but sometimes is a little vague on directions. For example, it will just tell you "remove this, remove that" but it wont give you more detail on the proper way to remove things. Thats what the forums are for. This forum has a ton of info and a ton of great people who can help you out.

2 strokes will be a little more maintenance, but it is much easier than working on a 4 stroke. There are no moving parts in the head of a 2 stroke, so no worry about valve timing, etc.