Sign in to follow this  

Trail vs Track Riding

I am new to riding and I am sure this is a simple topic that has probably been covered before but I will ask anyway. I see a lot of bikes listed as "trail riden only or never raced." I know they are probably not all true but what is the difference? Why is track and racing so much harder on a bike and components? I have seen some really good track bikes and some messed up looking trail bikes that you can tell they have been ridden hard. I have never raced but you are still doing all the same things (shifting, accelerating, decelerating braking ect) on trail to avoid obstacles as you are on a track. For example I ride a 450R primarily on tracks but not hard at all, hardly ever even get out of 3-4 gear and no jumping. Thanks for the comments, trying to learn as much as possible.

To some point I would rather buy a raced bike. If someone was serious about racing, they would take the necessary steps to keep the bike in working order. On the other hand, there are people that trail ride bikes that never do anything but change their oil and put gas in it. They end up neglecting all the suspension bearings, seals, chassis bearings and all the other stuff that someone who races greases at regular intervals. Then there are other people that trail ride and do all the necessary things (like me). I don't ride as often as I used to, but at the very least, my bikes get stripped down to the frame and every bearing gets greased or replaced if they are starting to look like they have had better days. Just have to have a keen eye if you are looking to buy a bike.