Sign in to follow this  

Colorado Bringing a plated AZ DRZ400E into Colorado

Hi all. I am a Colorado resident and just bought a 2003 DRZ 400E in Arizona. It's got Supermoto wheels and DOT tires as well as a BajaDesigns street legal kit, and it's already street legal there (has an AZ title and license plate). Now, I want to register it in Colorado. I have read all the forum threads I could find, but they all deal with plating an off-road bike in Colorado. And, I already have it insured. My question is this:

If my bike is already plated in AZ, do I have to go through all that compliance check and VIN check, or can I just fill out the "Application for Title" form and call it good? Is there any other challenge bringing a bike in from Arizona?

KG...my best advice is to just pay a visit to your local county clerk office and ask them. I did that before I started the process to plate 3 off-roads bikes in Colorado. They gave me the exact procedures and forms that I needed to complete and how to schedule an appt at the CSP office, etc.

My guess is that since it is already plated you only have to show up with your properly completed AZ title paperwork and a bill of sale and they will issue you new plates and send you a Colorado title in the mail (after paying sales tax and all the other licensing and registration fees). I can guarantee you that you will need to have proof of insurance when you show up at the county clerk office to get plates.

Even if you have to go through the off-road to on-road inspection process it is not that difficult as long as the bike complies with the regulations (headlight, tail light, brake light, DOT tires, mirror, horn and one rear reflector). It can be a little time consuming to bring the bike up to compliance (if needed) and then schedule the appt at the CSP office, drag the bike to the CSP office for inspection, and then go back to the county clerk office to get plates.

Oops. Gotta change my 'handle' now that I no longer have a KTM.