Sign in to follow this  

pair valve and solenoid removal didn't achieve much

I did the pair valve and solenoid thing on my drz400 sm and although the bike runs well I cant make out any difference in performance, so I'm wondering if the 3x3 and rejet procedure will yield similarly infinitesimal changes,I quite like riding the bike but man is it gutless.I should have got the Ktm lc4 but some of the stuff I read and heard about the reliability put me off and I got a drz instead.So,will a rejet allow me to bring up the front wheel in 1st off the throttle (44 t @ the rear) or should I flog the dizzer and get a Lc4

The 3x3 and rejet will give a slight performance increase but it will improve throttle response more. If you want a significant power increase you will likely need the FCR, big bore kit, MRD/SSW pipe, and cams.

The PAIR valve only affects performance in the lower gears by controlling the vacuum slide height. We do not have it in the US so I have no experience with performance change after deactivation. If you feel the DRZ is gutless, you probably have the wrong motorcycle. Yes you should go buy a KTM.

My DRZ-S with 15-44 gearing will power up in 1st and 2nd no problem. In 3rd I have to pull up on the bars and use the cluch.

• Like 1

The pair valve is for controling emissions. It opens under decell and injects fresh air into the exhaust system to hopefully ignite any unburnt hydrocarbons in the exhaust. Has nothing to do with performance at all.

James - No. The PAIR valve just controlls vacuum to the carb slide to limit slide height and reduce power in lower gears. The air injection into the exhaust to control emissions is a separate system.

Hmm maybe I have that backwards. Ah yes, you are right. The PAIR valve is the exhaust air injection. That will have no affect on performance.

The whatever thing on the carb (piston control valve??) does affect power in the lower gears. That is what the poster needs to disable. No wonder it feels anemic.