Sign in to follow this  

unwritten track law

So on a casual ride on the track what is the rules regarding where to ride, what lines to take etc

Im fairly new to the track so whats general rule of thumb, Do i try stay 1 line ? furthest to left or right?

I can hear faster guys coming up behind just before a jump. I should just stay my line and hope the ride around (over) me?

Sometimes i admit i get initimidated by them and want to move out of the way but doing so would probably stuff their lines up possibly making it more dangerous.

any other unwritten rules i need to know about?

ALWAYS hold your line. You're right about screwing somebody else up and possibly causing a collision trying to get out of their way.

It is usually a good idea to stay to one side or the other if you're not doong a jump, or at least out of the main line. But make sure you're already in that line before you get to the jump (see above)

It's also nice, if you're comfortable taking a hand off the bars at speed, if you point to the side you want somebody to go by on.

Also, make you're not going to cross anyone's line before entering or exiting the track.

like said above, #1 rule is going ot be hold your line.

faster riders will find a way around. You would be better glancing at the person coming up on you, then atleast they would be aware your aware of where they are. No need to take a hand off.