Sign in to follow this  

Question about upgrading my 94 yz250

I freaking love my 94 yz250. Literally everything on it is new, top & bottom end, suspension, new seat/plastics, etc. And over the last year or so, I went from doing desert riding trips with it, to now just the track. The track is much more fun for me and I've been able to quickly increase my riding skills there. This particular track has lots of pretty big table tops, decent whoops, and some small to medium sized doubles, and step downs. Im no expert but as far as I know, the bike handles and feels great. The thing is, as of now, I wanna get even better and at some point perhaps get good enough to ride one of their more advanced tracks at this place I go to. Question.....is this bike technically too "dated" for this kinda stuff and do I need to look into any of the 2000+ models, or is it still just as suitable?

And on a separate issue, me and a friend have a chance to rebuild the top and bottom on an 82 yz250. Would it be a waste of our time seeings we're not really into collecting? And would this bike (fully rebuilt of course) actually be fun to ride?

Billy

sounds like a nice bike. I rode my friends 1993 yz250 and It wasn't that much different than my 2001. My bike is lighter tho but I honestly think his is faster than mine and it still needs to get a new top end because it has not much compression

Love my 91 250, and i keep up with newer stuff. Then again maybe we all just suck..... Either way, if you arent paying for the old bike it might be good practice seein something different

Yeah it's very fast! Great bike for sure