Sign in to follow this  

KTM 250 SX-F for vertically challenged

Hi all,

I'm a novice 50 year old 5' 5" rider.

Last year I purchased a 2011 KX250F (great bike) and installed a Kouba Link and shaved seat which allowed me to reach tip toe on both sides while sitting on the seat. This offered me a bit of confidence out on the mx track and allowed me to get back up after a fall and get going again relatively easily.

My son will be inheriting the KX and I have been looking at the KTMs as a replacement. The 2012 SX-F is particularly inviting because of the electric start. I really don't see an additional seven pounds or so making much of a difference for me but the electric start will sure be welcome after a fall.

Anyhow, I was wondering if anyone of shorter stature such as myself has any comment regarding the suitability of the KTM for a short guy. According to manufacturer specifications the seat height is almost 2 inches higher than that KX. I know I can go the route of the Kouba link and shaved seat again but am wondering if it will be enough. Also, I would be interested in comments from any novice older riders regarding their experiences with the SX-F. I've read all the hype on the shoot-outs etc. which has me wondering but at the same time, I'm not pro so am not really convinced that the fifth placefinishes in the magazines really mean much to a 50 year old newbie like myself.

I just want to make sure I am headed in the right direction...

Thanks,

Barry

Edited by tripod1