Sign in to follow this  

Wiring An Acerbis LED Vision Headlight on My XR400R

Hey guys,

So I recently just bought an Acerbis LED Vision headlight.

I wanted to replace my XR400 headlight and this one looked pretty sweet. I have a feeling that the wiring is going to be a bit more complex than I thought tho. I think I can figure out how to wire the 2 main beams in the front using the current wiring on the bike, but what about the LED's on the side?

The XR400 doesnt have a battery and I dont really want to add one. Has anyone worked with this or similar lights on a battery less bike and is there other options on how to split the wiring to feed the LED's as well as the 2 main beams?

I'm a novice when it comes to wiring so I could use all the help I can get! Thanks

Edited by Foxmann250

Don't LEDs need DC power? Isn't your stock wiring giving the headlight AC power? If so, you will need a new regulator/rectifier to put out DC power and may want to/need do float the ground on your stator. I am not sure about this, but I think you may have to do some mods to run LEDs.

I've read you can use DC or AC to power LED's.

DC is what they typically run on but you can use AC with a different voltage to achieve the same thing. Since the LED's will only light up during one direction of flow, you can crank up the voltage and in turn the speed that the light will flicker at which if flickering fast enough, it looks like it is on continuously.

The specs on the XR400R are:

AC current to the headlight @ 12V and 35W

I'm pretty sure it runs off a magneto tho since there's no battery

Is it as simple as buying an inverter? Can I make the LED's run off a magneto?

I'm not looking to do anything fancy like wire the LED's for turn signals and such, just want them to shine while the bikes on is all.

Edited by Foxmann250
  • Like 1

AC comes from your stock stator on the lighting coil side. (there are two sides ignition and lighting)