Sign in to follow this  

Project Rebuild: 06 YZ 250

So I picked up a new (to me) 06 YZ 250 a few days ago. Previous owner said it had under 20 hours on it (sure looked like it), but I decided I would rather be safe than sorry and get underway with a top end rebuild. Now I ran into some issues that I had some questions about. I am new to dirt so sorry if these are common questions. I have provided some pictures of the build and my areas of issue. First is my plug. Now it isn't totally caked, but it definitely looks as if the bike is running rich. Now this bike has not been run hard as it was ridden by an older gentleman who wanted to use it for woods. Would this clear up with some throttle, or does it need some tuning? If it does need tuning, what would you recommend I adjust? Secondly when I got the cylinder off I noticed some "rust like"substance on the crank. It looks and feels like rust. What could this be? Is it rust? Should I replace the crank or do you think this is not that big of a deal? The crank looks good, minus these "spots". There was a small spot that had a small blueish tint which I imagine is from running too hot.

Here is how she looked when I got her home

2012-02-19101246.jpg

2012-02-19101807.jpg

2012-02-19101308.jpg

2012-02-20164907.jpg

2012-02-20165735.jpg

Ran out of light after getting the cylinder off, which looks in great shape by the way.

2012-02-20173306.jpg

Grabbed a few quick shots of the piston

2012-02-20173221.jpg

2012-02-20173230.jpg

2012-02-20173251.jpg

Here is a look at my plug

2012-02-20141639.jpg

2012-02-20141619.jpg

Here is the crank issue I was describing

2012-02-20173154.jpg

2012-02-20173045.jpg

everything looks wet like theres little watter droplets on everything. was it like that when you took it apart or did you spill some water on it while taking it apart. if it was wet already that explaines why your crank got rusty