Sign in to follow this  

2006 250X Need New Top End?

Well lately I have noticed my bike has been puffing some purple smoke on some higher revs. I know this would be because of my rings getting warn out, but do you think that its time for new ones??? I've heard its "cheap insurance". How much would it cost for just the rings and the piston and rings.

How many hours since any motor work was done? If unknown, do piston and rings. I went with the OEM 2008 250 R piston, gives a little more compression and can still run pump gas.

How many hours since any motor work was done? If unknown, do piston and rings. I went with the OEM 2008 250 R piston, gives a little more compression and can still run pump gas.

How much does it cost, i'm a confident with most mechanic stuff. But not tearing into the engine like that. Do you know how much it would cost to have a shop do it?

White smoke is oil smoke(indicating piston and rings or valve guides/seals). Black smoke is fuel smoke(too rich). If you rebuild, consider replacing the valves while the head is off(stainless lasts longer). Clean oil and air will help it last longer between builds.

How much does it cost, i'm a confident with most mechanic stuff. But not tearing into the engine like that. Do you know how much it would cost to have a shop do it?

just call your local shop and ask for an estimate.

My guess is around $200 for parts and 1-2 hrs billed at $80-$120 dollars per

P.S> I'd be happy to pack up some tools and come over to help....you gotta reimburse fuel, food and lodging. I might even bring the bike....might as well ride Montana while I'm there! :lol::bonk::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I get about 17 mpg and live near Houston if you want to estimate cost for that route.

Edited by Jakeblues