Sign in to follow this  

New here with a few questions on an 06 CRF250X

Hey guys I am new to this whole four stroke deal. I used to race but had a 2 stroke, my dad did all the rebuilds and knows his way around a bike real well. My question is how do you know a crf 250 needs new rings, how hard is the job, how hard is it tune up the vavles, and how much would new piston and rings cost? Sorry so many questions but my brother has a chance to buy one at a steal but the guy says it needs new rings.

Thanks

Grab a owners manual and service manual, you can buy the PDF's online for less than 10 bucks. As far as parts go, parts unlimited or check out your local honda dealer. Once the valves are set after you put the new rings in they don't need a whole lot of adjustment with the stock cam. But if you ride wide open with a R or Hotcam all the time they will need more service. Hope this helps a little.

• Like 1

The way you check for ring wear is with a compression tester, same as any other bike. It is easy to check or reshim the valves if you follow the how to in the sticky.

http://www.thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=179775

Parts for top end are around $200...piston, rings, wrist pin, circlip, gaskets. You can get the head refurbished with stainless steel valves installed for around $500. SS valves last many times longer than the Ti ones. Once the OEM Ti valves start to wear, you can reshim them until you run out of available shim sizes, but each re-shim will usually net less operating time between intervals.

I have an 06,with around 150 hrs. At 110 I had the head done and sunce I was in there replaced the piston and rings. The only other maint I have done to the bike is regular oil changes, cleaning the air filter, tighten spokes, adjust chain and I had to replace the linkage bearings due to corrosion.

• Like 1