Sign in to follow this  

Rebuilding 03 125sx, need a little advice.

Hi all, I'm new to the KTM forum, and am a new KTM owner. I usually perform basic maintenence myself and leave motor work to the pro's, but figured I owed it to myself to do it myself. So I apologize if these questions seem obvious to some..

I have ordered a new top end kit from my local dealer, went with the vertex rather than the oem based on the 130 or so dollar difference between the two. The piston I removed was a vertex, pretty out of spec, but wasn't terrible. Was this a bad call? I ride a small track at my house, and up north twice a year or so. No real track use for the bike.

When I removed the cylinder I noticed that I would not be able to use a tourque wrench for the installation. What is the best way to be sure the tourque is correct?

Other than the top end and the forks seals it is a real pretty bike, and ready to rip! I'm amazed at the difference between it and my kx, which I thought was pretty nice. The fit, finish and feel of the bars and levers, the shifter, bet the kx has a little envy, it might not get much use anymore.

Here are a few pics...

21ce9uw.jpg

the tear down

15gbfjb.jpg

Thanks for looking, and any advice you have. Oil and mix ratio is a big one for me right now. Have a great day...

Vertex supplies the OEM piston and Motion Pro(I think) makes an adapter for your torque wrench.

Interesting....I wonder what the difference is then? Piston A was a ktm piston kit for 265 bucks, piston B was the Vertex and was 122 or so. Maybe the piston I pulled is the original stock piston? I was told it had a cp piston when I bought it, apparently the bike came with the stickers, not the piston. Not suprised about that.

I will look for the tourqe wrench adapter, thanks for the info.