Sign in to follow this  

need wiring technique input from wiring guru's...

I've done small wiring jobs on my cars and bikes for many years. Adding accessories, fixing shorts, troubleshooting, etc. As i have become older my wiring skills have improved, but im still no pro.

I really have a problem with a simple wiring extension and the cleanest/easiest way to add a length of wire to an existing section, and I would like to try and get better at it.

As of now, after cutting the desired wires and measuring the length i need, I would either twist the wires together with my fingers and lay the wiring flat along the outside of the insulation and then put heat shrink over top...

Or, I would use a butt connector and heat shrink on top of that if needed.

The problem is this. If I do not use a butt-connector then i feel like my wire is not strong enough and wont withstand any sort of tension if im pushing/pulling on wires for whatever reason. But if i do use a butt-connector then the area is bulky and has a big, obtrusive, knot looking wire connector in it..which i dont want.

I'm looking for a way to CLEANLY, and hopefully quickly, add length to a section of wire. The butt-connectors that i have always used are the ones that come with heat shrinking or some sort of rubber shielding around it...so i'm not sure if there might be a really slim butt-connector that I could use that im not aware of or if there is another method i could use to go about it.

Thanks

How about taking the stripped ends of the wires you want to join, twist together, apply flux and solder. A proper solder job is a very thin "tinned" joint that should hold up to some tugging.

Where is this wiring being located? Housing, or bike/car?

bike/car...i dont really do much, if any, house wiring.

How about taking the stripped ends of the wires you want to join, twist together, apply flux and solder. A proper solder job is a very thin "tinned" joint that should hold up to some tugging.