Sign in to follow this  

Confused as to what to buy.

Hi all. I am a 44 year old guy, 5'11" and 220 pounds. I have been riding for about ten years now, all street bikes or 650 dual sports with the exception of a DRZs. I am currently shopping for a dirt bike. I am all kinds of confused and backwards here. What I want to do with this bike is trail ride and do some group riding. Maybe try my hand at an endure or scramble and maybe take it onto an MX track or two, just for fun. I have no delusions about actually "winning" any of these things. Mostly, I just want a bike that I can have fun on and plod around behind my wife and kids. I live and ride in the sloppy, rooty and rocky North East. I would only rate my self as a "novice" dirt rider.

What I think is that I would like something totally different. A light bike with no lights or license plates but I'm only going to get one "dirt bike" past my wife and It has to be a "dual sport" for a bunch of reasons. I don't want to be overwhelmed with power or weight. To a point, money isn't a consideration. Got a minute? I am looking at the following bikes:

KTM 200 xc-w or EXC. Nice and light, street legalable. Good components and quality. Instrament panel

Husky TE 250 or 310. Same as above.

CRF 250x. Japanese reliability but no speedo

WR 250f same as above.

KDX 200 because I always wanted to try two strokes.

WR450 Because I have access to one in nice shape for cheep money who's owner I know and respect the owner. Also, I do not think that this particular one has been "de-restrited".

DRZ 400e, because that's the default. A bunch heavier than I would want though...

I have also been toying with the idea of various 205f and 250 2Ts that have been "converted"

Thoughts on this? I am going kind of crazy trying to pick!