Sign in to follow this  

Bike for beginner

I'm intrested in getting a dirt bike and I have no idea about anything about bikes. I'm 17, I weigh 64kg (140 pounds) and I'm 6ft tall. The type of bike I'm looking for is one that I can drive around off-road and cross country, on a beach, up hills, mucky fields and such. I'm not sure if I'll want to do any racing but most likely not. Mainly for off-road fun. The price range is around 1500 euro, can be a few hundred over but the cheaper the better. I'm going to get one second-hand. I don't mind the brand of bike. I am a complete beginner so go easy on me.

CRF250x or WR250f. Both come with pretty tame motors, electric start, very good stock suspension, kick stands, lights and wide ratio transmissions. You weight and height will work well with these bikes. They can also be hopped up in the future if your needing more power or suspension improvements.

I was looking at the Honda CRF 250 which according to the ten minutes of reaserch seemed like a good bike, i just didn't know which one would be good for my hight. Thanks for the replay and I'll check out this WR250f. Would a Honda CRF250 from 2004/2005 be any good?

I have very little personal experience with the CRF250x but I have heard about problems with the heads. If your buying used, it won't matter which bike. The condition of the bike, including maintence is most important. Take the bike to a shop and have it looked over, spending a few dollars now might save you big time in the future.

The one I'm looking at right now is the 250R not X. The X is meant to be more for trial riding and the R for racing but will it make a huge diffirence for me as a beginner?

KDX 200 doesn't seem bad but it also doesn't look like that there are many for sale here in Ireland

The only problem for me is that it's 2 stroke because I read that 4 stroke is better for beginners.