Sign in to follow this  

2010 250, comment my setup and give me some ideas!

OK,

I've been going back and forth with the idea of getting back on a thumper but after no success in selling the YZ (can't believe how low you have to go to sell a bike these days) , and looking at long term cost, I'm sticking to the blue smoker

I'm a slow Vet C, practice only, my racing days are behind me and I'm OK with that.

Just want to have a good time on WE and come back home in one piece to play with my one year old.

current mods:

suspension revalved. 5.6 rear and .47 front. (I'm 210 geared, 6ft )

GYTR flywheel weight

O ring chain (mandatory)

Michelin MS3

G2 throttle cam (#400 cam)

Stock jetting. (50/178/N3EW #3)

Motul 710 40:1 wit 50/50 premium/Sunoco 110

I tried the JD kit and never got a right setup. Always way too lean or way too rich

After many tests, I slowly came back to stock. Plug has now a nice brown tan

Biggest improvment was the 110 gas that really help cleaning the jetting (plug was black/oily with stupid Ethanol here)

Everything else bone stock, including handlebars which is a first to me

Bike is running strong but I want to make it a bit smoother.

I'm finally slowly getting in better shape (looking for 190 lb) but the 250 is wearing me out (so the idea of a thumper)

Suspension is a slightly modified stock valving. (since most rave about it).

Sag 100 mm. forks up first line

Still, I'm figthing the front end in some turns (wants to wash out)

I've been doing some search on this forum about Pipes/reed/porting and now I'm not sure where to start

I know that ultimate treat would be the 295 by Mr Gorr but he's pretty busy right now and I don't want to be without a bike for too long.

What would you recommend by priority level?

I don't want a SX weapon but more of a GNCC/Works bike.

• I like the idea of a pipe/silencer but keep reading stock is the best. (I have a thing for the "Works" pipes but in Florida, stuff can rust just sitting in your garage)