Trials Bikes

Yes I used to ride it in the 70s its really fun and you obviously learn alot of balance and technical skills which translate into improving your riding. Try it out I still have a vintage Bultaco I'm going to start competing with. Good luck, Matt

Yeah, i've been riding amature intermediate for about 3 years now. Trials riding is a lot of fun and as stated earlier, it does build a lot of skill. If you are just wanting to dabble in it, not sure that you will like it, i would highly suggest going with a used bike. A new bike is a big investment about 5K, depending on size and model.

Some of the bigger names in trials bikes would be Gas Gas, Sherco, Scorpa and beta. All of these machines are well engineered and highly refined. The deciding factor for me when i finally bought a new bike was proximity of a reputable dealer. Lucky for me, the U.S importer for Gas Gas is only 15 minutes from me. And one very important note, Do not even look at any model designated as a pro bike. When pro is stamped on the side of these things they mean it and you had better have the skill set to back it up or you will be on your back more than you are on the pegs

Thanks for the info guys...I've wanted to ride trials since I was like 12 and first saw it on motoworld. But I just figured it was mostly a North Eastern deal, and of course Europe. It turns out that there is an active group of Montesa riders right near me. For those of you who know trials, Chris Florin's father Barry lives about 10 miles from me, and I think Chris does as well. And Barry has been nice enough to give me some great advice.

And I think my Drinkin_Buddy is dead on...I'm sure I would not learn any more on a $1500-$2000 bike than I would on a $5K bike. Besides, I'm sure in trials the old truth "it's not the bike it's the rider" is more true than in most sports. I guess that assuming the bike is more or less current :D

Thanks for all the good info guys. ?