2002 YZ 426 about to purchase

I'm just about to purchase a 2002 YZ 426 from my brother. I've been riding for 23 years, everything from 85 CR 500's to my latest bike, a street legal XR 400. Don't get me wrong, I love my XR and it's great for trails and i still plan on keeping it, but now that my son wants to go to the desert I would like something thats lighter with better suspension and power. I'm hoping for better hill climbing and less bouncing over the whoops. Now back to the 426. I know the history, it's been babied and is in near perfect condition. He's only selling it because he just bought a KTM 500 EXC. Are there any issues with the 2002 model or anything hidden that I should know other than the starting process. How does it compare to some of the new motorcross bikes. I'm getting it for $1000.

I think the main thing with the early Yamaha race 4-strokes was relying on splash lubrication of the rod bearing and they would lock up. The yfz450 quad had the same issue till they addressed the problem.

I'm currently parting a 426 that had this happen and bought a quad that did it back in 08

In each case the machine wasn't mine when it locked so I can't say what oil and long it was between changes, etc. I would think if you run a synthetic oil and change it often you would be fine.

Rob

Edited by 02YZ85

For a $1000 id buy 2 of them. ? only had my 2001 for a few month but I love the bike,the suspension is soft compared to 450's,power down low is great.I find the filter dosen't get plugged up every ride and actually stays clean a long time.They are heavy bike but probably not as heay as the xr400.You need to check the oil filter drain bolt as they strip fairly easy and not sure about the 02's but I find the clutch on the 01 very grabby during first start after that its great.For the price and it runs I would jump on it,but the price of bikes here is much higher then most of the states.